TFL Cherokee vs CVR review - 2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums
User Tag List

 11Likes
  • 1 Post By Len1304
  • 1 Post By goobnav
  • 3 Post By Mudman1
  • 1 Post By NScherry
  • 2 Post By Len1304
  • 1 Post By R2D2
  • 1 Post By Falstaff
  • 1 Post By RegalTraveler
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Len1304's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hurst, Tx
Posts: 4,187
Garage
TFL Cherokee vs CVR review

Cherokee vs crv review.

https://youtu.be/Ywa5bdmlKQg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mudman1 likes this.

2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk v6 (TOTALED)
2016 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk v6

Contact me privately via Instagram @Len1304

Check out my album: http://s1168.photobucket.com/user/Len1304/story

http://jeepcherokeeclub.com/4-2014-2...rum-rules.html
Len1304 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 07:23 PM
Forum Elder
 
goobnav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,665
Garage
Mall crawler v. Actual Off road vehicle, yeah, it's a Limited but, it has ADII.

There is no comparison. One is a poser, the CR-V, the other, KL Limited w/ADII, has more power better infotainment and a regular transmission compared to a bloody CVT!!

Really, GO JEEP!!!!!
UN4GTBL likes this.

2016 TH, V6, C&C, Tow group, 8.4AN, leather, Cold Weather, Command Sunroof, Black wheels, & Black. Maxcare Unlimited Miles and Years $100 Deductible.

Last edited by goobnav; 02-03-2017 at 05:37 AM.
goobnav is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 07:30 PM
Forum Elder
 
Mudman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Northwoods
Posts: 1,963
Not a bad video. I watch those guys a lot. I agree the rear of the Cherokee is not super roomy. He did not mention getting the 2.4L which is not a race engine but gets great MPGs. He also did not elaborate much on the greatness of the AWD system. And to compare it to a Wrangler is not fair. I would take a Cherokee on my road trip again over a Wrangler any day for highway use. Even most trails I would do. And, it tows a lot more. He did not compare towing abilities.

Thanks for sharing.

2015 Trailhawk - Eco Green, 3.2L, Nav, Tow, Cold Weather. MODS: Goodyear Wrangler All-Terrain ProGrades 245/70R17; WeatherTech mats, vent shades; Magnaflow exhaust. Rigid SR 20" bar and Rock Lights. JW Speaker fog lights. Blue Ridge Overland Gear panels and bags. Pelican tool box loaded! Bubba Rope and Gators too. Much more....

Trailer: Custom built Montrose aluminum 4.5'Wx6'Lx3'H off-road utility with 3,500 lb Dexter torsion axle. Known as the Zombie Escape Trailer.
Mudman1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 11:03 PM
Premium Member
 
NScherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 449
Can't see how he can call the Honda interior superior to the KL. Says the Honda feels like a "much more premium interior". I think the KL is pretty darn nice, and it is a Ward's ten best interiors winner. Plus I did not think our back seats are that cramped, unless he is like, 6'8".
CaliEcoGreen likes this.

2015 North Deep Cherry Red. 4x4 - 2.4 - CWG - BU Cam - Tonneau Cover - Premium Carpeted mats - LED Interior/HL/Fogs. Kicker/JBL Speakers - 5.0 to 8.4 Upgrade with Nav. unlock. Many custom "Tweaks" to make mine unique.

NScherry is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-02-2017, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Len1304's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hurst, Tx
Posts: 4,187
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by NScherry View Post
Can't see how he can call the Honda interior superior to the KL. Says the Honda feels like a "much more premium interior". I think the KL is pretty darn nice, and it is a Ward's ten best interiors winner. Plus I did not think our back seats are that cramped, unless he is like, 6'8".


My daughters car seat with her in it just barely fits. She can touch the passenger seat pretty easily. And I believe roman (presenter) is like 6' 5 or something.

I don't think it was a far comparison because he didn't compare the 4 cylinder. And to at the end say you would have the wrangler is just wrong. I hate the Wrangler and couldn't stand it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
NScherry and goobnav like this.

2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk v6 (TOTALED)
2016 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk v6

Contact me privately via Instagram @Len1304

Check out my album: http://s1168.photobucket.com/user/Len1304/story

http://jeepcherokeeclub.com/4-2014-2...rum-rules.html
Len1304 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 05:21 PM
Enthusiast Member
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 260
Garage
That review irritated me.

What irritated me is that Roman reviewed both vehicles then he chose two different vehicles at the end of the review. Which had nothing to do with the review.

"If I had 43k, I'd choose the Wrangler", "If I had 35k, I'd choose the Ridgeline"

I was like DUDE if you're reviewing a car be honest and let your viewers know which of the two vehicles you'd buy, not a totally different vehicle.
goobnav likes this.

2014 Black Trailhawk | 2.4L i4 | Comfort Group | Leather Group | UConnect 8.4AN | CDPlayer | Build:06/25/2014 | Twitter: ArdeeAquino
R2D2 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Falstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
That review irritated me.

What irritated me is that Roman reviewed both vehicles then he chose two different vehicles at the end of the review. Which had nothing to do with the review.

"If I had 43k, I'd choose the Wrangler", "If I had 35k, I'd choose the Ridgeline"

I was like DUDE if you're reviewing a car be honest and let your viewers know which of the two vehicles you'd buy, not a totally different vehicle.
I know, right? Yeah, if I could choose something totally not in the review I just did, I'd choose the Batmobile!
goobnav likes this.

2017 High Altitude Firecracker Red 4x4 with 3.2L V6 & ADI. Tow, Luxury, Safety & Technology Groups. 9 speaker audio & CommandView sunroof.
Falstaff is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 07:30 PM
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: At the end of the thread.
Posts: 473
Garage
The sunroof does drop the ceiling enough to where I made sure to get a KL without the sunroof. It can be cramped in the rear though for taller people when the driver is also a taller people. I know my sister's car-seat [rear-facing] fit very snug against the rear of the front seat if the passenger is to sit somewhat comfortably.

I had to laugh at the beginning though. "Now I like this turbo in the Honda Civic, so point to the CR-V". LOL, well, the CR-V isn't quite as light as a Civic.
UN4GTBL likes this.

2015 TH // True Blue / 3.2L V6 / Tow Group / Leather Group / Comfort-Convenience Group / Uconnect 8.4AN.
Procured 2015/08/27.
Gobi Stealth Rack & Ladder - Ordered 9/30/2015, Rx 01/15/2016, Install May 2016.
RegalTraveler is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 09:43 PM
Hardcore Member
 
Einstein14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Low Laurentides, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 698
Garage
The back is for the kids... so for me .. I don't care...and my mom is just fine as well when she joins... I don't think my daughters will ever get to Roman's size and height

The Cherokee may be small a bit in the back,,, but it is more than enough for small families !

2014 Jeep Cherokee - Trailhawk 3.2L - Billet silver
Built date - 2014-05-20
Einstein14 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Falstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 68
The rear seat space is also not an issue with us. We have no kids, so maybe 8 times a year have someone sitting in the back. I probably use the rear seat the most if we have to flip down the front passenger seat in our Vibe to haul 8 foot 2x4's for home renovations. I think our High Altitude has the flip down front seat, so this still may be the case.

Regardless, in our opinion, the CRV looks goofy, its interior was just plain ugly, and it didn't have the towing capacity that we need. The big negative of the KL that we choose to live with is the fuel economy, but we're not getting the towing capacity and power without having to give up something. Fortunately neither one of us drive to work, so gas prices don't really affect us. It's range is still about 100 kilometres more than our Vibe, so it'll still be an upgrade.

2017 High Altitude Firecracker Red 4x4 with 3.2L V6 & ADI. Tow, Luxury, Safety & Technology Groups. 9 speaker audio & CommandView sunroof.
Falstaff is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review your Cherokee AutoGuide.com New Member Introductions 18 12-24-2015 11:02 AM
Comparative Review of the Cherokee PeteB Jeep Cherokee Reviews 13 08-15-2014 11:52 AM
Dallas Morning News written review & video review 1-24-2014 Texas Trailhawk Jeep Cherokee Reviews 9 01-27-2014 02:03 PM
TFL Snowy-Colorado-drive Trailhawk video review! xmike5000 2014+ Jeep Cherokee General Discussion 3 12-30-2013 11:06 AM
TFL Trailhawk Follow-up Review Novaco Jeep Cherokee Reviews 13 12-07-2013 04:04 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On