Inspection sticker - 2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 05:15 PM Thread Starter
sir
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Inspection sticker

Hi all!

I'm the owner of a new Cherokee in NH, and this is my first car in the US.

When I got the jeep, the dealer put an inspection sticker behind my rearview mirror. This obviously makes the jeep look ugly

Do I actually have to keep it there after I've registered the jeep in my town? From googling I see that I must have inspection stickers, but does it mean I actually got to have that ugly thing on the window? No one else has that :/
sir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 05:28 PM
Hardcore Member
 
Spookster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 680
Garage
If it's a state DOT mandated safety inspection then you will have to have a sticker and the placement of it is usually dictated by the state DOT as well. When I used to live in NC we had to have safety inspections done annually and the sticker was required to be placed in the bottom left of the windshield. You should check with NH DOT on where it can be placed.
Walkingdeadfan likes this.

  1. 2014 Limited | True Blue | 4x4 | 3.2L V6 | ADII |Tow Package |Luxury Package |Tech Package | Panoramic Sunroof | Kitchen Sink
  2. 2015 Trailhawk | Anvil Gray | 4x4 | 3.2L V6| ADII | Comfort Group | Leather Group | Cold Weather Group | Tow Package
Spookster is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 06:03 PM
Enthusiast Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 207
Garage
I live in Delaware but purchased in Pa. Pa has both inspection and emission stickers in the windshield, they are so ugly. I waited until my reg went through Delaware and then I scrapped those suckers off. Delaware doesn't issue a reg unless you pass inspection so no sticker other than the renewal sticker on the license plate itself.
bjdjr is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 07:01 PM
Hardcore Member
 
Walkingdeadfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Dusty Texas Panhandle
Posts: 757
I agree with Spookster - it's a state by state mandate.

TX requires registration and inspection stickers, both stuck on lower corner of driver side windshield. You stand a pretty good chance of getting a ticket here if your car does not have both stickers. I'm so used to it I don't even notice it anymore. Although on my Ford both inspection and registration are due in Oct (10), but from the inside it looks like (01) and I do get tired of people telling me my stickers are expired when they are not.
Walkingdeadfan is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 06:40 AM
Hardcore Member
 
NHPatriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sir View Post
Hi all!

I'm the owner of a new Cherokee in NH, and this is my first car in the US.

When I got the jeep, the dealer put an inspection sticker behind my rearview mirror. This obviously makes the jeep look ugly

Do I actually have to keep it there after I've registered the jeep in my town? From googling I see that I must have inspection stickers, but does it mean I actually got to have that ugly thing on the window? No one else has that :/
YES you absolutely must keep the state inspection sticker on the windshield, under the rearview mirror, here in NH. DO NOT remove it, or relocate it to a different spot, or the local Police will pull you over and give you a citation. Every year your vehicle must be inspected in your birth month( you have a 10 day grace period into the next month actually to get it done )and a new state inspection sticker will be added to your window. They are color coded and show the month they need to be replaced in to help the Police know if you are running around uninspected. NH is not alone in having these types of stickers. Many states use them.

You also must run a front license plate too before you ask that. There are stickers that go on them too( one for month and one for year ). They will have to be replaced every year when you register the vehicle as well.

It was put there for a reason.
NHPatriot is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 08:11 AM Thread Starter
sir
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHPatriot View Post
YES you absolutely must keep the state inspection sticker on the windshield, under the rearview mirror, here in NH. DO NOT remove it, or relocate it to a different spot, or the local Police will pull you over and give you a citation. Every year your vehicle must be inspected in your birth month( you have a 10 day grace period into the next month actually to get it done )and a new state inspection sticker will be added to your window. They are color coded and show the month they need to be replaced in to help the Police know if you are running around uninspected. NH is not alone in having these types of stickers. Many states use them.

You also must run a front license plate too before you ask that. There are stickers that go on them too( one for month and one for year ). They will have to be replaced every year when you register the vehicle as well.

It was put there for a reason.
Thanks @NHPatriot ! I'll leave it be.
sir is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 08:32 AM
Moderator
 
SkipW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Midcoast Maine
Posts: 5,983
@NHPatriot, Does NH really insist that the sticker be behind the rear view mirror? I actually prefer mine there but Maine will allow there or at the lower left hand corner.

Mine is now on the lower left hand corner because my Limited has the dimming box behind the mirror. Would NH insist it is up there below that box? That would be in the driver's field of vision!

Just curious....

.
.

The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.

http://jeepcherokeeclub.com/4-2014-j...rum-rules.html
SkipW is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 09:44 AM
Hardcore Member
 
Walkingdeadfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Dusty Texas Panhandle
Posts: 757
Tolltag stickers are getting placed under the rearview mirror in TX. At the rate we are going, all the agencies will be fighting for space on our windshields!

TX also requires a front license plate in addition to the back one. That's the easiest way to spot an out-of-state car, if it has no front plates.
Walkingdeadfan is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 10:00 AM
Premium Member
 
taatmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,551
Garage
Many states mandate that an inspection sticker remain attached to the vehicle. Its the law.


Fortunately, Utah scrapped that idea several years ago, and we have not had to have one anymore. Ours used to be on the windshield down by the lower left corner, as looking outward. It was not as obvious as being right behind the rear view mirror as you state...

2015 Cherokee Trailhawk:
Granite Crystal, 3.2L V6, 8.4 Nav, black leather, sunroof, tow, tech, comfort/conv, no hood decal, 9 speakers, CD player, Maximum Care lifetime warranty, Mopar first aid kit, rear rubber cargo mat, Thule Aeroblade cross bars (black), Thule Rapid Aero feet, Kuat Vagabond X cargo basket, RRO rock rails with smooth covers, Mopar door sills, Raingler ceiling net, Raingler seat headrest handles, MFC aluminum lift kit, RRO winch bar and Warn M8000S winch, BFG T/A KO2s
taatmk is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 10:41 AM
Hardcore Member
 
NHPatriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkipW View Post
@NHPatriot, Does NH really insist that the sticker be behind the rear view mirror? I actually prefer mine there but Maine will allow there or at the lower left hand corner.

Mine is now on the lower left hand corner because my Limited has the dimming box behind the mirror. Would NH insist it is up there below that box? That would be in the driver's field of vision!

Just curious....
Has to be below the RVM. Has been that way since I can remember.

EDIT - here you go...

Saf-C 3245.05 Affixing Inspection Sticker.
(a) The sticker shall be affixed to the windshield surface, which shall be dry and clean of dirt, grease or moisture.

(b) Each sticker shall be affixed as follows:

(1) The protective liner shall be removed from the adhesive side of the sticker;

(2) The appropriate monthly insert designating the month of expiration shall be attached to the adhesive side of the sticker

(3) The sticker shall be positioned on the center of the windshield below the sun guard and out of the driver's vision, behind the rear view mirror; and

(4) Pressure shall be applied to the sticker for adhesion.

The info is from here( way down near bottom )
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rule...saf-c3200.html



Last edited by NHPatriot; 05-06-2014 at 10:52 AM.
NHPatriot is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Inspection biga9999 Cherokee Purchasing and Orders 14 05-07-2014 03:56 PM
Inspection Question grubin Cherokee Purchasing and Orders 17 01-06-2014 12:27 PM
Dealer prep & my inspection before/when I pick it up? Texas Trailhawk Cherokee Purchasing and Orders 14 12-29-2013 09:23 PM
Interesting Sticker barnettd Engine and Technical Discussion 9 12-20-2013 12:06 AM
Window Sticker Lookup WJM Cherokee Purchasing and Orders 17 11-12-2013 06:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On